Saturday, 20 January 2018

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War - Max Brooks


World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

Title - World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
Author - Max Brooks

Blurb

It began with rumours from China about another pandemic... Then the cases started to multiply and what had looked like the stirrings of a criminal underclass, even the beginnings of a revolution, soon revealed itself to be much, much worse. Faced with a future of mindless, man-eating horror, humanity was forced to accept the logic of world government and face events that tested our sanity and our sense of reality. Based on extensive interviews with survivors and key players in the 10-year fight-back against the horde, World War Z brings the very finest traditions of American journalism to bear on what is surely the most incredible story in the history of civilisation.

Review

If you’re a big lover of Zombie media (which is most people these days) you probably went and saw the Brad-Pitt-athon that was World War Z. I know I certainly went to see it.

Y’all. What a waste of source material. My God.

I picked up a copy of World War Z a couple of months back from a charity bookshop called “Healthy Planet”, who let you grab any 3 books and take them free of charge, and ask for donations if you want to or donations of books (I’m a big believer in their cause, by the way, if there’s a Healthy Planet near you then please donate!). I wasn’t really sure what the structure of the book was going to be, having only seen the movie, but I was pleasantly surprised to find it took the form of interviews with survivors of the Zombie War after the fact – it lent it this detached, documentary-like feel that instantly engaged me. The imagery was so vivid, both in the accounts of the interviewees and the occasional interjection from the author describing the subject’s mannerisms as they give their interview, that I truly felt as though this had been a real event and these were the harrowing survivor’s tales of people who had been through hell.

Yeah, the movie did not give me that feel. I promise I’ll stop ragging on it now.

Max Brooks divides the book into several parts, covering the entire war chronologically, beginning with tales about the first infections with isolated cases of Zombies cropping up across the world. The novel then moves on to discuss how the Zombies took the world completely unprepared, the measures that needed to be in place to prevent their spread but weren’t, and how it degenerated into a full-blown war. Tales of surviving soldiers talking about the last stands they fought in, where their comrades were dragged screaming to the ground by the living dead, withstanding everything but a precise headshot, chilled me to the bone, and Brooks gives an incredible sense of the desperation the world at large must have felt through these eyewitness accounts.

I remember one story regarding a battle to hold a bridge in Southern Asia where the Zombies stretched as far as the eye could see, the hopelessness of the interviewee as he talked about his commanding officer sacrificing himself to hold the line, and I reached for my phone to look up the event on Wikipedia to hear more about it before I realised it was fictional. I am not a smart man.

It’s hard to discuss the book in too much depth without giving the plot away, so I’ll say this. If you like Zombie related fiction, and you want to be immersed in one of the best examples of worldbuilding I’ve come across in a long time, then this book should move way, way up your “Yeah, I’ll read that at some point when I’ve got time” list.

(The movie sucked).


Product Details 
Paperback: 334 pages
Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
Language: English 
Author's Website: https://www.maxbrooks.com/
Purchase: Amazon Barnes & Noble

Thursday, 28 August 2014

The Graveyard Book - Neil Gaiman

Title - The Graveyard Book
Author - Neil Gaiman

Blurb

After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.

Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn't live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod's family . . .

Review

Despite having read two other Gaiman books, I was quite hesitant in reading this one. For one, it seemed to be marketed for quite a younger audience but for another ir would the first Gaiman book that I would read without having a foreknowledge of the source material, this made me rather nervous. I was not ready to dislike Gaiman just yet.

To be honest, I should not have worried. It seems the best stories might be a coming of age stories. This novel is about Nobody 'Bod' Owens who got his name due to an unfortunate incident where his parents are killed by the man Jack and is adopted by a group of ghosts a mysterious otherworldly man Sylus.

This book plays a lot on mystery, page on page you are faced with quuestion after question like who is the man Jack, why did he kill Bod's real parents, what is Bod's real name and what type of creature is Sylus.

Gaiman in his usual style does not attempt to answer all of the question, leaving an air of mystery even after the boom is done. It had me thinking about it long after I had stopped reading it. It's one of those books where you stare at the back cover wondering why it's missing it's last few hundred pages.

I loved this book. Bod was a perfectly defiant, intelligent, loving, smart and sometimes naive perfection of a narrator. This book, having been set in a graveyard had a perfect mix of dark shadows and bright lights of childlike enthusiasm. The powers that are granted to Bod are not only unique but incredibly creative which is a wonderful change from the usual shapeshifters and blood suckers.

It seems that Gaiman also loves the Hempstocks as they have found a way to get from the Stardust to his novel. Liza Hempstock is a brilliant character with a great mix of teenage mutiny, wisdom of the dead and witchcraft. I feel like I watched a toddler seamlessly transit to a teenager and I did not feel like I saw any considerable time jumps.

This is a brilliant book that can be read by children or adults and is equally entertaining. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

P.S. Did I mention Bod dances with death, literally.


Product Detail
Paperback, 289 Pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury, 2008
Language: English
Author's Website: http://www.neilgaiman.com/
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Monday, 18 August 2014

Coraline - Neil Gaiman

Title - Coraline
Author - Neil Gaiman

Blurb

Coraline's often wondered what's behind the locked door in the drawing room. It reveals only a brick wall when she finally opens it, but when she tries again later, a passageway mysteriously appears. Coraline is surprised to find a flat decorated exactly like her own, but strangely different. And when she finds her "other" parents in this alternate world, they are much more interesting despite their creepy black button eyes. When they make it clear, however, that they want to make her theirs forever, Coraline begins a nightmarish game to rescue her real parents and three children imprisoned in a mirror. With only a bored-through stone and an aloof cat to help, Coraline confronts this harrowing task of escaping these monstrous creatures.


Review

After reading Stardust, I decided that I wanted to read a lot more of Gaiman's work.  Coraline seemed like natural choice since I was a big fan of Henry Selick's very Tim Burton styled animated adaptation. 

As is the case for every book to film adaptation, there are some changed that are for the better and others that should have been left as the writer has imagined it. It is a brilliantly dark and twisted tale about a girl who feels abandoned by her very busy parents and a creature that introduces herself as the other mother and attempts to fill the void of a parental figure while she hatches her rather insidious plan. 

I'm not sure if this is intended for a younger audience since the monster that lurks in these pages could very easily scare adults. There are a lot of ambiguity about what kind of creature "the other mother" is and Gaiman makes no effort into reveling any answers.  

From a purely narrative standpoint, Coraline is an amazing character. She is smart, brave and intuitive.  Unlike the Coraline in the movie, she is not easily fooled by better food and playground. She is very suspicious of the other mother from the start and is resistant to the idea of this perfect world that she is presented with. It does however present the point that her narrative might be too smart for the age she is, not that I object to it.

On her part the other mother is much more complicated that she is seen in the movie, she doesn't just want Coraline just for the sake of it but wants to really love her in her own way, even if her form of love is very short lived and based solely on a narcissistic need to have something other than herself love her back. 

The only thing that was disappointing about Coraline is the notable absence of Wyborne 'Wybie' Lovat, while his character is not essential, he was a really fun character to have. Like Stardust before it, Coraline does not make a habit of wrapping all the lose ends into a neat bow but leaves it to the reader to imagine some of the lose ends as a potential for the reader to explore   by themselves. 


This is amazingly creative, dark and just simply amazing. The creatures and characters in this book are not only well thought out but are incredibly detailed in their existence. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars for superb story telling and brilliantly twisted imagination. 

Product Detail
Paperback: 162 Pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Language: English
Author's Website: http://www.neilgaiman.com/
Purchase: Amazon | Barns & Nobel 

Saturday, 16 August 2014

Stardust - Neil Gaiman

Title - Stardust
Author - Neil Gaiman

Hopelessly crossed in love, a boy of half-fairy parentage leaves his mundane Victorian-English village on a quest for a fallen star
in the magical realm. The star proves to be an attractive woman with a hot temper, who plunges with our hero into adventures featuring witches, the lion and the unicorn, plotting elf-lords, ships that sail the sky, magical transformations, curses whose effects rebound, binding conditions with hidden loopholes and all the rest

Review

I came across Gaiman a few years ago with the release of the movie Stardust and then again with Coraline and a few episodes of Doctor Who. I really enjoyed adaptations so I thought it was about time to read the source material.

I have seen the movie several times and have enjoyed it each time so I had a high expectations for this book. Stardust the movie and Stardust the book are very different, it's almost like reading two parallel stories that draw upon each other but are fundamentally very different.

This book has all the makings of a wonderful play, it reminded me a little of Shakespeare's play A Midsummer Nights Dream with a lot of magical creatures and a fairytale like setting.

Unlike the movie, the book goes to great lengths to set up the story of Dunstan Thorn and the town of Wall. It is a magical place where the creatures of the other side can have a more dynamic relationship than suggested in the movie making Tristan's story much mote believable.

Gaiman also created a beautifully intriguing encounter between between the very beautiful elven princess Una and Dustan Thorn. Their relationship while brief is painted into a much more convincing and realistic relationship.

The one thing that I really love that the movie has created is Captain Shakespeare, while his character exists within the novel, he is not as flamboyant and dynamic. The Captain within the novel helps Tristan as he is part of a "fellowship" which goes otherwise unexplored.

The one thing that did disappoint me about this book is Tristan himself, he is very naive character who doesn't seem all that intelligent of curious. He seems completely unaware that Victoria Forester is not interested in a boy of his social class. He is pretty much my expectation of what an average Victorian man is like which I suppose is pretty what he is.

The novel is very Faerie orientated with Lions on crowns, unicorns, actual fairies and witch queens and many more wonderful creations rather than the explosion orientated movie creation. Gaiman had a gift with story telling, his story is extremely visual and follows with a natural ease that is hard to find in a lot of books.

I really liked reading this book and would definitely read another Gaiman book. I give it a rating of 4 out of 5 stars for a brilliant visual and dynamic story.

Product Detail
Pages: 192
Publisher: Headline Review, 2005
Language: English
Author's Website: http://www.neilgaiman.com/
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Last day of UK Giveaway!


Only one day left before giveaway closes. Make sure you've all entered for a chance to win a bunch of books and other prizes.



Wednesday, 16 July 2014

2ND Year Blogiversary Giveaway - UK EDITION



HURRRAAY!

My blog has finally hit it's two years mark. I am so proud of it. In the past there are many times when I thought this point was not going to be reached but with the help of Mercy, we have finally hit this mark. 

To celebrate my baby being a one year older, I am going to do a giveaway. This one has a few books and even a dvd. Unfortunately this give away is for UK readers only but not to worry I will run an international giveaway with plenty of ebooks very soon.

PLEDGES.
In the coming years:-
- I promise to take more care of my blog 
-  Post more
- Run more giveaways 
- Stay Awesome

Tuesday, 15 July 2014

Uglies [Uglies #1] - Scott Westerfield

Title - Uglies
Author - Scott Westerfeld

Everybody gets to be supermodel gorgeous. What could be wrong with that? 

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. Not for her license - for turning pretty. In Tally's world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.

But Tally's new friend Shay isn't sure she wants to be pretty. She'd rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world and it isn't very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all.

The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.

Review

I have been meaning to read this book since secondary school but I've never had the motivation to go out and get but this week  I decided to change that and give Scot Westerfield a chance after all he has proven that he is not terrible with his Peeps series.

It had a very descent start with fantastic world building. It is very clear that Westerfield has this word quite thought out with all the fractions of society structures quite well and their technology is also wonderfully detailed however what really struck home with me with this series is the obsession of beauty.

Tally is obsessed with beauty, obsession doesn't even begin to cover it. Everything she does is to ensure that she becomes one of the pretties and at first that goes to great lengths to make us aware of how beauty obsessed the word really is. While this is great at the beginning, it does start to wear think as Tally makes increasingly destructive decisions to insure that she does finally become a pretty. I have to say, she is one of the most annoying characters I have ever had a pleasure of meeting.

What really started to grate on my nerves was the way in which David looked at Tally, as if the sun shone and ended with her. He constantly attributed simple actions are truly heroic and fantastical. It is very Romero and Juliet-esk in the sense that it is an infatuation that leads to an entire rebellion hanging on the shoulders of an irresponsible little boy.

One of the main faults about this book is the fact that setting is so well thought out but it seems like the characters are more of an after thought and a bad after thought they are. The friendship between Shay and Tally is full of holes at best, why would Shay tell Tally about the Smokies after knowing her just few month especially considering it is THE closest guarded secret in the country. How is it that a lone teenage girl can find this place but a mighty civilisation with enhanced super beings can't seem to find it.

The only redeeming character was Shay. She started out as an independent, smart and fiery character who wrote one hell of a riddle. She would have made a brilliant narrative point but very soon into the Smokes, she pretty much turned into a whiny little girl whose entire being involved being jealous of Tally and David's relationship.

The character just didn't cut it for me but I suppose if you happen to have patience for whiny teenage girls then this should not be too hard to read. Overall I give this 3 out of 5, just because I just about got through the whole thing.


Product Detail
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books (29 Mar 2012)
Language: English